IPL 4 Teams – Post Auctions

Here are the squads of all 10 teams post the Mega Auction. 127 Players were bid for in the auction and adding the 12 retained earlier, 139 players are now part of various teams. The teams still need to sign Indian domestic players to fill up the team vacuums and make up the playing XI.

Listed below are all the players, their teams and the price they were bought for.

Players Country Type Final Price
(Mil $)
Bangalore Royal Challengers – Balance Left 0.36 Mil $
Cheteshwar Pujara India Batsman 0.7
Dirk Nannes Australia Bowler 0.65
Zaheer Khan India Bowler 0.9
Saurabh Tiwary India Batsman 1.6
Daniel Vettori NZ Bowler 0.55
AB De Villiers RSA Batsman/Wk 1.1
Tillakaratne Dilshan Sri Lanka Batsman 0.65
Abhmanyu Mithun India All rounder 0.26
Charls Langeveldt RSA Bowler 0.14
Luke Pomersbach Australia Batsman 0.05
Johan van der Wath RSA Bowler 0.05
Rilee Rossouw RSA Batsman 0.02
Nuwan Pradeep Sri Lanka Bowler 0.02
Jonathan David Vandiar RSA Batsman 0.02
Mohaamad Kaif India Batsman 0.13
Virat Kohli India Batsman 1.8
Chennai Superkings – Balance left 0.335 Mil $
Michael Hussey Australia Batsman 0.425
Doug Bollinger Australia Bowler 0.7
Wriddhiman Saha India Wk/Batsman 0.1
Ravichandran Ashwin India Bowler 0.85
Subramaniam Badrinath India Batsman 0.85
Dwayne Bravo WI All rounder 0.2
Ben Hilfenhaus Australia Bowler 0.1
Sudeep Tyagi India Bowler 0.24
Scott Styris NZ All rounder 0.2
Francois Du Plessis RSA Bowler 0.12
George Bailey Australia Batsman 0.05
Joginder Sharma India Batsman 0.15
Nuwan Kulasekara Sri Lanka Bowler 0.1
Suraj Randiv Sri Lanka All rounder 0.08
Mahendra Dhoni India Wk/Batsman 1.8
Suresh Raina India Batsman 1.3
Murali Vijay India Batsman 0.9
Albie Morkel RSA All rounder 0.5
Deccan Chargers – Balance Left 1.36 Mil $
Cameron White Australia Batsman 1.1
Kevin Pietersen England Batsman 0.65
Shikhar Dhawan India Batsman 0.3
Ishant Sharma India Bowler 0.45
Pragyan Ojha India Bowler 0.5
Amit Mishra India Bowler 0.3
JP Duminy RSA Batsman 0.3
Dale Steyn RSA Bowler 1.2
Kumar Sangakkara Sri Lanka Wk/Batsman 0.7
Dan Christian Australia Batsman 0.9
Manpreet Gony India Bowler 0.29
Chris Lynn Australia Batsman 0.02
Juan Theron RSA Bowler 0.85
Michael Lumb England Batsman 0.08
Delhi Daredevils – Balance Left 0.75 Mil $
James Hopes Australia All rounder 0.35
David Warner Australia Batsman 0.75
Aaron Finch Australia Batsman 0.3
Irfan Pathan India All rounder 1.9
Naman Ojha India WK/Batsman 0.27
Morne Morkel RSA Bowler 0.475
Ajit Agarkar India Bowler 0.21
Venugopal Rao India Batsman 0.7
Ashok Dinda India Bowler 0.375
Umesh Yadav India Bowler 0.75
Matthew Scott Wade Australia Batsman 0.1
Andrew McDonald Australia All rounder 0.08
Roelof van der Merw RSA Bowler 0.05
Travis Birt Australia Bowler 0.02
Colin Ingram RSA Batsman 0.1
Robert Frylinck RSA Bowler 0.02
Virendra Sehwag India Batsman 1.8
Kings XI Punjab – Balance Left 2.055 Mil $
Adam Gilchrist Australia Wk/Batsman 0.9
Shaun Marsh Australia Batsman 0.4
David Hussey Australia Batsman 1.4
Ryan Harris Australia Bowler 0.325
Stuart Broad England All rounder 0.4
Dinesh Karthik India Wk/Batsman 0.9
Abhishek Nayar India All rounder 0.8
Praveen Kumar India Bowler 0.8
Piyush Chawla India Bowler 0.9
Dimitri Mascarenhas England All rounder 0.1
Nathan Rimmington Australia Bowler 0.02
Kochi Team – Balance Left 1.205 Mil $
Steven Smith Australia All rounder 0.2
Brad Hodge Australia Batsman 0.425
VVS Laxman India Batsman 0.4
Rudra Pratap Singh India Bowler 0.5
S Sreesanth India Bowler 0.9
Ravindra Jadeja India All rounder 0.95
Parthiv Patel India WK/Batsman 0.29
Ramesh Powar India Bowler 0.18
Brendon McCullum NZ Wk/Batsman 0.475
Mahela Jayawardene Sri Lanka Batsman 1.5
Muttiah Muralitharan Sri Lanka Bowler 1.1
Owais Shah England Batsman 0.2
Michael Klinger Australia Batsman 0.08
Thisara Perera Sri Lanka All rounder 0.08
Stephen O’Keefe Australia Bowler 0.02
Ranganath Vinay Kumar India Bowler 0.475
John Hastings Australia Allrounder 0.02
Kolkata Knightriders -Balance Left 0.425 Mil $
Brad Haddin Australia Wk/Batsman 0.325
Brett Lee Australia Bowler 0.4
Shakib Al Hasan Bangladesh All rounder 0.425
Eoin Morgan England Batsman 0.35
Yusuf Pathan India Batsman 2.1
Gautam Gambhir India Batsman 2.4
Manoj Tiwary India Batsman 0.475
Jacques Kallis RSA All rounder 1.1
Lakshmipathy Balaji India Bowler 0.5
Jaidev Unadkat India Bowler 0.25
James Pattison Australia Bowler 0.1
Ryan ten Doeschate Netherlands Batsman 0.15
Mumbai Indians –  Balance Left 0.28 Mil $
Andrew Symonds Australia All rounder 0.85
Rohit Sharma India Batsman 2
James Franklin NZ All rounder 0.1
David Johan Jacobs RSA Wk/Batsman 0.19
Clint McKay Australia Bowler 0.11
Munaf Patel India Bowler 0.7
Moises Henriques Australia All rounder 0.05
Aiden Blizzard Australia Batsman 0.02
Sachin Tendulkar India Batsman 1.8
Harbhajan Singh India Bowler 1.5
Keiron Pollard WI All rounder 0.9
Lasith Malinga Sri Lanka Bowler 0.5
Pune Sahara Warriors – Balance Left 0.93 Mil $
Tim Paine Australia Wk/Batsman 0.27
Callum Ferguson Australia Batsman 0.3
Yuvraj Singh India Batsman 1.8
Robin Uthappa India Batsman 2.1
Ashish Nehra India Bowler 0.85
Nathan McCullum NZ Bowler 0.1
Graeme Smith RSA Batsman 0.5
Angelo Mathews Sri Lanka All rounder 0.95
Mitchell Marsh Australia All rounder 0.29
Wayne Parnell RSA Bowler 0.16
Jerome Taylor WI Bowler 0.1
Murali Kartik India Bowler 0.4
Jesse Ryder NZ Batsman 0.15
Alfonso Thomas RSA Bowler 0.1
Rajasthan Royals –  Balance Left 0.605 Mil $
Paul Collingwood England Batsman 0.25
Rahul Dravid India Batsman 0.5
Ross Taylor NZ Batsman 1
Johan Botha RSA Bowler 0.95
Shaun Tait Australia Bowler 0.3
Pankaj Singh India Bowler 0.095
Shane Warne Australia Bowler 1.8
Shane Watson Australia All rounder 1.5
Total Spent 79.695

IPL4 – Format & Auctions

Finally, After all the long litigations and hours of meetings it almost seems final that IPL 4 would have 10 teams and 74 matches. There would 2 groups of 5 each which would play matches on Home and Away basis thus producing 40 matches. The next round will have top 6 teams playing against each other in home- away basis and thus producing another 30 matches. 2 semi finals, 1 3rd place match and the mega final would make it 74 matches over a period of 6 weeks.

The players auction has been finalized for 8th and 9th January 2011. There are 416 players available for the first round of auction. This list includes heavyweights like Rahul Dravid, YuvRaj Singh, Zaheer Khan from India and International stars like Brian Lara, Micheal Hussey and Kevin Peterson.  Out of these the list will be pruned down to a more reasonable number by December 24,2010 based on the interests shown by the 10 franchises. The base prices for the players are fixed but that is of course not indicative of the actual prices. Notable absentees in the list are Ricky Ponting, Mitchell Johnson and Micheal Clarke who have resisted IPL’s money in favor of longer International career. Pakistani players are also not part of the list.

12 players have been retained by various franchises. Mumbai Indians have retained Sachin, Harbhajan Singh, Malinga and Pollard while Chennai have put faith in Dhoni, Raina, Vijay and Albie Morkel. Delhi have retained Sehwag while Bangalore are happy with Virat Kohli. Rajasthan have retained Shane Warne and Shane Watson. The other 3 teams namely Deccan, Knightriders and Kings XI Punjab and the 2 new teams of Pune and Kochi go with empty roster in the auction and the full 9 Million $ to spend.

Apart from the auctions the team will be entitled to sign the Indian domestic players which will make the backbone of any team. BCCI is yet to decide upon the final date from which this signing can happen.

The auctions would surely be as keenly followed as the actual IPL Matches.