Books I Read – May I Hebb Your Attention Pliss

The reason I had bought the book ‘May I Hebb Your Attention Pliss’ were quite a few. Chief amongst them was the author Arnab Ray or Greatbong as he is known on Twitter and other such sites. I had read his blog , loved his articles and could easily identify with many of his writings. After all I have grown up in ‘India of the 90s’ as well. I had heard quite a few tweets by the author hardselling his book and I guess one of his tweets made me have a look at the book on Indiaplaza.in and the price was decent ( read cheap) enough to me to buy and so I ordered and waited for it to be delivered. Indiaplaza in their usual style messed up delivery and the book reached around 15 days after it was promised, the only compensation was that i received a detailed apology mail from Indiaplaza and received a ‘personally’ signed copy of the book.

Now to the book review: The book was a breeze to read , as it is more a collection of his blogs then a book. It is more about experience of growing up in 90s of India.  The entire book has lot of satire, wit and dark humor, which I usually like. I loved the chapters about Bollywood Cliches, Film of the 80s and 90s, Indian Politicians, , Terrorist attack, Management School, Television Soaps etc. Didn’t much like the chapters about the great wedding as I felt quite a lot of cliches in them and could almost tell what was going to happen and it did. Mainly it could be because I have been through similar experiences myself.

Loved the special dedication to Prabhujee’s special films like Loha, Gunda, Diya aur Toofan etc. and had tears in my eyes reading them.  Kanti Shah is a true inspiration to us all. I had expected the book to have a full fledged story rather than collection of blogs but it was still a novel experience reading it.

All in all, it was an enjoyable ride and worth the money I had spent. Strongly Recommended for all those who have grown up in India of the 1990s and loved Gunda. ( as the author rightly said there are people in the world who have seen and loved Gunda and then there are people who will )

Leave a Reply

